Latvia: New coalition agrees on distribution of seats in government

Latvia’s New Unity, Union of Greens and Farmers (ZZS), and Progressives have agreed on the distribution of seats in their new coalition government, LETA reports. New Unity will have eight, ZZS will have five, and the Progressives will have three seats in the new cabinet. The Latvian parliament, the Saeima, is due to approve the three-party government on 15 September 2023.

New Unity’s ministers will include Evika Silina as prime minister, Arvils Aseradens as finance minister, Inga Berzina as minister of environment and regional development, Anda Caksa as education and science minister, Krisjanis Karins as foreign minister, Rihards Kozlovskis as interior minister, Inese Libina-Egnere as justice minister, and Hosams Abu Meri as health minister.

ZZS will nominate Gunars Kutris for Saeima speaker, Uldis Augulis for minister of welfare, Armands Krauze for minister of agriculture, Kaspars Melnis for minister of climate and energy, and Viktors Valainis for minister of economy. The Progressives will name Kaspars Briskens as minister of transport, Agnese Logina as minister of culture, and Andris Spruds as minister of defence.